top of page

What Really Happened: David and Goliath

All our lives, we have been taught to believe that David killed Goliath - and while that is indeed true, we often get the wrong impression from reading the story.

Let me explain. We consider it to be a noble act on David's part - killing the unregenerate monster who was standing there blaspheming the living God, thus saving God's covenant people from certain annihilation . But was that actually a Christian thing of him to do?

No.

Somewhere in the new testament (don't remember where, cuz I really don't read my bible except when I'm feeling down and need some motivational verse to make me feel good again) I think Jesus said to bless your enemies and do good to them that curse you.

What David was actually supposed to do was show God's love to Goliath. He should have told him that God loved him and had a wonderful plan for his life. It's a shame he killed him instead. What an un-Christian thing of him to do.

Don't be like David, people. Show people the love of God wherever you go. Now, if you'll excuse me, writing this article has gotten me tired, so I'm going to go find some nice scripture to motivate me to feel good again, as writing this has gotten me feeling down.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page